Novel Idea

An app that a lot of people recommend to writers is the Novel Idea. It is an app for the iPad or iPhone where you can write things about your novel anywhere you go. For example, they have an area where you can add multiple novels and it can still keep it organized. Also, you can add and name scenes. It lets you brainstorm when and where the scenes are happening as well as which characters are involved in each scene. The best part of this app is if you are someone like me who has multiple projects that you are working on, this app actually let you add scenes to different novels.

For someone who likes to brainstorm his/her characters before they write anything down, this app will help them a lot. The character section has series of questions for you to answer about your character which is really helpful to me and like the scenes you can add the character to scenes that you are working on as well as novels.

Also, they have a tab for where you can jot ideas down when you are away from your notebook or computer. Like all apps, it isn’t perfect. This apps like any other app need improvements and an improvement that I think they should do is add an button where writers can email their work to themselves so they have it as an backup in case something happens and they lose their work, they will still have an backup. But overall, it is an great app for writers who does Nanowrimo or for people who are away from their computer a lot.

3 comments

  1. juliamchale · December 11, 2014

    I have always been someone who absolutely cannot start a writing piece, whatever it may be, without some form of brainstorming. I like the helpful character questions the app Novel Idea provides. I am also someone who always comes up with great ideas on the spot. However if i forget them, they’re gone! Therefore the idea this app has of being able to jot down notes and ideas you come up with is smart!

    Like

  2. lizromeo · December 12, 2014

    I actually reviewed the same app! I also thought that it was a great app overall, but that’s a great point about the fact that there wasn’t a way to backup your work–I’ve broken/lost too many phones to feel comfortable just saving it on the one app on my phone! I wonder if it would/could be saved through iCloud or anything like that? Plus, if you can’t email it to yourself or anything, how are you supposed to ever actually put it on a computer when you want to? (All stuff that never even occurred to me when I was originally doing my review!)

    Like

  3. laurenstren · December 15, 2014

    I really like this app. I think it would come in handy because I have so many notes on story ideas and this owuld be a better way to keep it all organized and away from everything else in my life. I love brainstorming ideas for stories.

    Like

Leave a comment